Resolution: Read the World

I’ve made a new life resolution. It’s kind of like a New Year’s resolution, except I’m not kidding myself into thinking I can finish this in only a year. I’m going to read a book from every country.

I got the idea from a TED Talk by Ann Morgan, a British woman who suddenly discovered her “cosmopolitan, global” outlook wasn’t reflected by her bookshelves—which only had British and North American authors on them. So she asked her friends for recommendations, and then her friends’ friends, and then strangers online from different countries. She got some books sent to her from abroad, and she even had to ask for special translations a few times.

I’m secretly hoping that by the time I get around to reading some of the less accessible countries, there will be an easier way to get a book. But in the meantime, I have a few to start with, and I’ve got Ann’s list to give me ideas. But if you have recommendations, please let me know—I would especially like to get recommendations from people born in other countries.

I’m starting now…or a few months ago. I’m starting to record the books now, but if you think I’m not going to count Les Mis (which I laboriously finished over the last four years), then you’ve got another thing coming.

So join me if you like, and help me if you can! I’m reading the world! ♦

Here’s the TED Talk:

https://www.ted.com/talks/ann_morgan_my_year_reading_a_book_from_every_country_in_the_world#t-188322

Here’s Ann’s blog:

https://ayearofreadingtheworld.com/

Here’s Ann’s book list:

https://ayearofreadingtheworld.com/thelist/

One thought on “Resolution: Read the World

Leave a Reply

