The Boys in the Boat

the boys in the boat

Alright, so I was supposed to read this for book club.

Not only did I pick the Young Readers version, I still didn’t finish it in time for book club. And then I skipped book club to go home and sleep. It’s been a rough month.

But! Shortly after skipping book club, I did manage to finish the book. So here’s what I thought of it:

I think I should have read the full, unabridged version. It seemed like a good, potentially powerful story – but it just didn’t have the power it was supposed to. And a good deal of that might have been because the book kept explaining things like who Hitler was, and why Nazis were bad, and what The Dust Bowl and The Great Depression were. I majored in history. Can we move on?

Anyways. It probably would have been valuable explanation for an actual young reader, but for me, it was just a little condescending. I also didn’t end up as emotionally involved in the story as I should have been. Part of that might also be because I’ve been depressed this month. It’s a good book, but I didn’t get much out of it. Oh, well. ♦

One thought on “The Boys in the Boat

  1. This was one of the best books I read last year—but it was the original version. I actually listened to it and the narrator’s performance really enhanced the story. Sometime you might want to give it another try.

Leave a Reply

