The Underachiever’s Manifesto

0811853683_large

I just finished The Underachiever’s Manifesto: The Guide to Accomplishing Little and Feeling Great. Ray Bennett, M.D. argues that the key to real success in life is to stop trying so darn hard and relax a little. Be okay with being good enough and stop racing after constant euphoria. Stop trying to one-up your boss, your sister, yourself. After all, “ugly people have good sex, too.”

The argument is not to embrace lousy living; it’s to accept that if you’re determined to be the best at _______, then you’re probably going to let the other aspects of your life suffer. Slack off a little, relax a little, and find some balance.

I read this book because my husband recommended it. My husband recommended it as a way to address my sometimes-crippling anxieties. And it helped. In the interest of following Dr. Bennett’s counsel, I’ll leave my review simple, and say that I liked it, it’s only about as long as most blog rants (and considerably more positive), and if you’ve got a spare thirty minutes, you should pick it up. ♦

Leave a Reply

