The Maze Runner

Maze Runner

Alright – I’m well behind Ethan in number-of-books-read, but at least I’m still reading. Over the past few days, I started and finished one of the fastest-paced books in the English language. It’s called The Maze Runner, written by James Dashner, and I’d place it somewhere between teen sci-fi and suspense. Ethan and I bought it after we saw the preview for the movie coming out soon. (Effective preview, that.)

For those of you who read my last book review, I can simplify this by simply stating that The Maze Runner is the exact opposite of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. Exact opposite. Going from one book to another was a bit of a shock to my system. It was like watching the 6-hour version of Pride and Prejudice, and then following it up immediately afterward with The Terminator. The book is so action-packed, I don’t think I put it down for two days, except to eat, sleep, and catch my breath.

The book is about a group of teenagers who find themselves in a compound with no memory of who they were before. The compound is surrounded by high stone walls that form a maze, and the kids have to find their way out of the maze. Trouble is, they have to get back by sunset every evening, or the evil cyborg Grievers will kill them. But then one night, the walls to the maze don’t close, and the Grievers get into the compound.

I’m not throwing out any more spoilers than that. Be warned: if you pick up this book, be prepared to not put it down. Also, be warned that there’s a fair amount of violence, although the author doesn’t dwell on blood and guts and gore. There is little foul language, however, as the author developed his own slang for the teens to cuss in. So that’s a plus. Also, if you’re looking for a good, clean, resolution with a happy ending, this isn’t your book. I’m not sure whether I feel cheated or delighted that I now feel a solid need to go out and find a copy of the next two books in the series.

In short, this is a book my dad would love, my mom would hate, and I really hope they carry at the local library. Or at least, the sequels. If you like action movies, go pick up this book. ♦

2 thoughts on “The Maze Runner

  1. Pingback: Book Duel: Black Coffee | the sandguppy

Leave a Reply

