And Then There Were None

Image

Okay, before I start raving, let me get this out of the way: Agatha Christie is dated. This is an English author, writing during the 1930’s and 40’s. I usually have to take a moment to shut down the “political correctness” part of my brain to some extent when reading Christie, simply because she writes like a White Anglophile at the start of the 20th century. All the main characters are White, and usually English. All foreigners are “quaint.”

Alright, I got that off my chest. I can continue.

This book is fantastic! Agatha Christie writes good mystery any day, but I remember reading And Then There Were None for the first time when I was in elementary or junior high school, and I still remember the crazy plot twists. I still remember whodunnit. And even now, the second time through the book, I was up late into the night reading, because it was gripping. This is quite possibly the best murder mystery I’ve ever encountered.

The book is set up just like a murder-mystery party – except every few hours, there’s a new victim. Ten people come to Indian Island for various reasons, only to discover that their host does not exist, and someone is determined to pick them off, one by one, in theatrical fashion. And despite their best efforts to find the murderer, their number is still dwindling quickly…

Oh, it’s good. Go get a copy and read it. ♦

One thought on “And Then There Were None

  1. Pingback: Quick Thoughts: “Ten” | The Cheap Reader

Leave a Reply

