Is the Devil Afraid of Me?

godvsdevil

I was reading Jesus the Christ this morning, by James E. Talmage (which is super long, and might take me a long, looong time to finish), and something struck me that I’ve never really noticed before. Talmage is talking about Jesus enduring the devil’s temptations: Satan asks Jesus to prove His Godhood by turning stones into bread or by throwing Himself off of the temple and expecting His Father (God) to rescue Him. Jesus answers “Thou shalt not tempt the Lord, thy God.” And then Satan changes tactics, and offers Jesus power and glory:

8 Again, the devil taketh him up into an exceedingly high mountain, and sheweth him all the kingdoms of the world, and the glory of them;

9 And saith unto him, All these things will I give thee, if thou wilt fall down and worship me.

10 Then saith Jesus unto him, Get thee hence, Satan: for it is written, Thou shalt worship the Lord thy God, and him only shalt thou serve.

(Matthew 4:8-10)

So Satan shows Jesus the kingdoms of the world, and promises to give them to Him in exchange for worship. Now here’s what Talmage says about it:

“The effrontery of his offer was of itself diabolical. Christ, the Creator of heaven and earth, tabernacled as He then was in mortal flesh, may not have remembered His pre-existent state, nor the part He had taken in the great council of the Gods; while Satan, an unembodied spirit – he the disinherited, the rebellious and rejected son – seeking to tempt the Being through whom the world was created by promising Him part of what was wholly His, still may have had, as indeed he may yet have, a remembrance of those primeval scenes.”

Jesus tempted

So let’s break this down, because Talmage is rather – shall we say – verbose. Jesus created the world. Then He was born, forgot everything (as mortals are wont to do), and slowly learned He was the Messiah. So Satan came to tempt Him, offering Him the worlds…that He created. It would be like somebody stealing your bike and trying to sell it back to you. But on a much, much bigger scale.

And that’s where I really started thinking. If Jesus existed before He was physically born, it stands to reason that we all did, right? And if Satan used Jesus’s strengths – the things He already had – as temptations, why wouldn’t the devil use the same tactic on me? Let’s say, for example, that I was really good at music in a previous life. Now I’m here, and I’ve forgotten how great I was at music. But I’m still the same person, so I still care about music – so Satan tries to convince me that I’ll never succeed in the music industry unless I go all Miley Cyrus about it and throw all morality to the wind.

Are you following me? We don’t remember what happened before this life – that’s why this life is such a test of character – but Satan remembers, because he rebelled and opted out of the test (or rather, dropped out of school). And now he tries to use our strengths against us.

Now, this isn’t doctrine, as far as I’m aware. I’m speculating. But let’s just pretend for a second that I’m on to something. If I’m right, what does that say about the millions of women struggling with self-image? If the devil puts dark thoughts in your head that you’ll never be pretty enough, is that because he knows exactly how beautiful you already are? If he tells you you’re untalented, does he remember how invaluable you are to those around you? If he tries to convince you you’re stupid, is that because he’s jealous of your intellect? What if he tells you that nobody cares? That you’ll always just be a mindless follower?

What does the devil know about you that you don’t? What is he trying to hide from you?

And what does God know about you – that He desperately wants to remind you – that you’re not taking the time to remember?

Jesus loves you more than you know

I believe that if anybody knows our full potential, it’s God – our Creator. He remembers who we were before this life, and He knows who we are now, better than anyone. And He knows it, free of the screaming sounds of the media telling us what we should be buying and who we should be idolizing and why we’ll never be as good as [insert fabulous celebrity here]. He knows us. And I believe He’s willing to show us who we are, if we just spend enough time talking with Him to learn. But how will we ever learn if we won’t take the time to listen?

This week, I want to spend some time on my knees, just asking questions and quietly listening. I want to know what kind of person God knows I can be – what kind of person He knows I already am. ♥

One thought on “Is the Devil Afraid of Me?

  1. I LOVE this blog entry!! Very inspiring! While I am, as a rule, nervous about speculation of sacred things, I think the principle here stands true: God (and Satan, probably) knows who we are, who we were, and what we’re capable of! Anything we do to allow God to help us will be for our good. Anything we do to allow Satan to tempt us (or discourage us) will be our undoing. I know with whom I am putting my trust!

Leave a Reply

