The Little Prince

Littleprince

Yesterday, I read The Little Prince, by Antoine de Saint Exupery. And it was just the cutest book I think I’ve ever read. I don’t know how I’ve gone this long without reading this, but my husband was taken aback when he found out I hadn’t read it, and when we found it at a thrift store, we had no qualms in spending one of the best dollars of our married lives.

The Little Prince tells the story of a stranded airplane pilot in the Sahara Desert and his encounters with a mysterious little prince, who shows up out of nowhere and asks the man to draw him a sheep. Perplexed and a little embarrassed (the only things he knows how to draw are boa constrictors), the narrator draws a sheep, and the boy tells him the sheep is too sickly. The narrator draws another sheep, and the boy objects, “This is a ram. It has horns.” The third sheep is too old. Finally, the narrator draws a box with holes in it and explains, “This is only his box. The sheep you asked for is inside.” The boy is instantly delighted.

The two become friends, and over the course of several days of failed engine repairs, the airplane pilot learns about the planet this little prince came from, the way he got to Earth, and the plans he has upon returning. He also learns how silly grown-ups act, the value of life, and even, possibly, the value of death. I chuckled. I smiled. I laughed. I wept openly. The book is adorable! And profound, to boot.

Here are a few great quotes from The Little Prince:

“Grown-ups never understand anything by themselves, and it is tiresome for children to be always and forever explaining things to them.”

“Of what matter now was my hammer, my bolt, or thirst, or death? On one star, one planet, my planet, the Earth, there was a little prince to be comforted. I took him in my arms, and rocked him.”

“…to conceited men, all other men are admirers.”

“What is most important is invisible…”

Basically – and I think Ethan might agree with me on this – I think I’ve found the best book of the year. This book is about space, love, volcanoes, sheep, and what really matters in life. And it’s told through the eyes of a very little, very wise, prince. ♥

 

One thought on “The Little Prince

  1. Pingback: Free “The Little Prince” printable, an inspirational quote for my desk | The Domestication of the Running Rose

Leave a Reply

