Death by Chocolate

My mom sent me a recipe for hot chocolate a few days ago, with the understanding that it was the greatest cocoa ever tasted by humankind. It looked like a pretty standard cocoa recipe to me, just with a little coconut milk in it. Today I made it.

I don’t follow recipes well. I follow ingredient lists well – I just don’t measure anything. I just kind of add stuff until I think it’s done. Well, today, I made the richest, most delicious, possibly deadliest hot chocolate ever. Ever. Like, this-stuff-is-so-rich-I-think-I’m-going-to-keel-over hot chocolate.I think next time, I’m adding about three times as much milk. As it was, though, I think I’ve killed us. We’re just lying here, dying. Oh, heavens. So much chocolate. ♦

Image

2 thoughts on “Death by Chocolate

    • Coconut Hot Chocolate

      • ½ cup sugar
      • 1/3 cup water
      • ¼ cup unsweetened cocoa powder (Hershey’s)
      • 2 cups 1% milk
      • 1 ½ cups coconut milk
      • ½ tsp. vanilla

      Whisk together sugar, water, and cocoa powder in a medium saucepan set over medium heat just until cocoa and sugar dissolve. Do not bring to a simmer.

      Whisk in milk, coconut milk, and vanilla. Continue cooking until mixture is steamy and slightly simmering around interior edges of pan, whisking occasionally, about 3-5 minutes. Do not boil!

      Pour into mugs to serve.

      Makes 4 (1 cup) servings.

Leave a Reply

