Healing the Imperfect

I found today’s favorite scripture. I’ve been reading through the Old Testament – and so far, 1 and 2 Chronicles have been pretty dry. But I found this in 2 Chronicles 30:18-20. For context, Hezekiah the king just inherited a pretty wicked people from his pretty wicked father, and he’s trying to turn things around in the kingdom. So he calls all the people together, holds a special Passover celebration, and invites everybody. Most people just laugh, but some people come, even though it’s the wrong month and they haven’t had time to go through all the purification they would normally need.

“But Hezekiah prayed for them, saying, The good Lord pardon every one that prepareth his heart to seek God, the Lord God of his fathers, though he be not cleansed according to the purification of the sanctuary. And the Lord hearkened to Hezekiah, and healed the people.”

Two things I like here: One, the people still came, even though they weren’t totally ready. I used to feel like God was unapproachable unless I was perfect – that I wasn’t worthy to pray if I felt like I had any serious problems. But these people were ready to come back to God, because they knew they needed His help to become pure. The second thing I really like is that the Lord didn’t just accept them – he healed them. He wasn’t just willing to overlook the faults of His people, He made them clean and healed their spiritual scars.

It makes me glad to remember that God will take us just as we are, and as long as we’re willing to come to Him, He’ll make us better every time. Maybe it’ll take time, but we should never be afraid to ask for His help. He always gives it – always has, and always will. ♥

Leave a Reply

