The Death of Reggie by Violent Means

Gasping, I surge forward,

My net swings out,

A perfect extension of my arm.

Caught! In my excitement,

I forget to close the butterfly net.

Reginald: 1

Me: 0.

My nemesis buzzes freely about my head,

Tapping my nose gloatingly.

A few more circles around my shoulders,

And I dance the dance

My fathers danced

When they, too, were surrounded somehow

By only one housefly.

I am shamed.

Now I wait. He will return.

If you have bug spray,

Please stop by –

Unless you are a fly,

In which case,

Please die.

Leave a Reply

