Thoughts on the Phrase, “One God”

520px-Shield-Trinity-Scutum-Fidei-English.svg

Growing up, I was always a little confused how there could be one God, but three Gods. There’s Heavenly Father, and Jesus Christ, and the Holy Ghost. Who are separate. But there is only one God. How can that be?

I think many Christian denominations teach that this is actually one Being, working in three separate spheres. Mormon doctrine teaches that these are three separate Beings, who are united in their purpose. But this still confused me; the scriptures say very clearly that they are one – not three.

I think the answer – at least as far as I interpret it – is in 1 Corinthians 12. “For as the body is one, and hath many members, and all the members of that one body, being many, are one body, so also is Christ” (verse 12). A body is made up of several members, but they all act together to form one body. Follow that up with verse 14: “For the body is not one member, but many.” I don’t get all twisted around trying to figure out whether my right arm and my left arm are separate or not, just because I call them both “arm”. I have two grandmas and two grandpas, and a whole slough of cousins, but I don’t get frustrated trying to figure out whether they’re all the same person. The word “church” is singular, but that doesn’t mean there’s only one member. Why can’t there be three members of “God”?

I see God as a title, not as a person. The Godhead (or Trinity, if you will) functions like a council. God the Father, God the Son, and the Spirit of God can be separate Beings, while still working together toward the same goal – being one with one another. They all love us the same, and they all know how to help us the same, so they work together as one God for our salvation. I guess it’s the same as saying they’re one in purpose, but for some reason it makes infinitely more sense to me to say it that way. Probably because I had to figure it out on my own. ♦

One thought on “Thoughts on the Phrase, “One God”

Leave a Reply

