Chalupa

There comes a time when your body really needs something healthy. When it just craves vegetables. When you say to yourself, “You know what, Self? Forget the cost – I’m going to buy a salad!”

And then there are times when you say to yourself, “You know what, Self? Forget the salad – I want a taco!”

And then there are times when you order something new from the menu, sit down, ask the Lord to preserve your life despite your choice in deep-fried goodness, and take a bite. And at those times, you say to yourself, “Where has this chalupa been all my life?!”

So I’ve never had a chalupa before. For some reason, it just never took a high priority on my bucket list. Maybe it’s because it just looks like a cheap, fried taco. Or maybe it’s the story my driver’s ed teacher always told about a road-raging perpetrator on the freeway throwing a flaming hot chalupa into the open window of a neighboring car and into an innocent toddler’s face. I was only thinking of the children.

But let’s just say, people: I have found a dangerous thing. A delicious thing. A dangerously delicious thing.

I should probably go buy some vegetables. ♦

Leave a Reply

