M.L.K.

This Martin Luther King Day, I decided to do something relevant, instead of just sleeping in and celebrating a day off of school. I joined some friends – and other BYU student body – in a candlelight walk to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the March on Washington. And it was pretty awesome!MLK1

At first, I thought it was funny that there were all these white people gathered together to celebrate the black Civil Rights Movement. (There were black people there, too, but this is Utah, so most of us were pretty pale.) And for a few minutes, I still thought it was pretty ironic. But as we lit candles and walked past the speakers playing King’s “I Have a Dream” speech, I suddenly realized how stupid it was to assume that I was “too white” for the occasion. If my male friends were protesting in the streets for women’s rights, would I laugh at them? Of course not. I’d be proud. If I went to a gay pride parade with my gay friends, would they tell me I didn’t belong there? Of course not! They’d be proud!

I started to realize that Civil Rights -and any worthwhile cause – isn’t about getting equal treatment for one group of people. Maybe that’s the immediate goal, but it’s not the real point. The real purpose is to protest hatred, and get people to start treating one another like brothers and sisters, as children of God.

So I’m happy to support Civil Rights for all of God’s children, and I hope the dream of equality never dies! 

U2’s amazing tribute to Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mDH7oD_AQW8

Photos: http://news.byu.edu/archive13-jan-mlk.aspx

Leave a Reply

