Slip Slidin’ Away

This morning, we had an ice storm. I’ve never seen one of these before in my life, and I’ve never heard of it in Utah, but here it was. We’ve had snow on the ground for weeks, but this morning it rained and then promptly froze. Martha warned me this morning that it was icy outside, but I was in a hurry and I was running late to class.

I quickly decided that it wasn’t worth the rush. After about 10 minutes, I had made it across the street and was skating my way across the gym parking lot. Every step I took, I kept praying, “Dear Lord, please send some kind soul with a car.” I held out hope for some gallant gentleman who would offer to drive me to class and spare me the 2 hours it would surely take to get to campus at the rate I was shuffling along.

I was on the phone with my dad, telling him how ridiculous the weather was, when I heard honking behind me. Excited, I whirled around – and off of my feet, landing on my backside and my left elbow. My phone flew, my book-bag fell, and I looked up to see the world’s greatest bus driver, signalling me to hop in. As I stepped into the bus, he asked, “Are you okay?” I said yes, and the whole bus erupted into laughter. Apparently, they had been holding it in until they knew I wasn’t hurt. I don’t blame them for laughing, though; our heroic driver picked up every foolish pedestrian along the route, free of charge, and the whole thing really was hilarious to watch. If you’d like to see a sample of the new Provo penguin shuffle, check it out here

2 thoughts on “Slip Slidin’ Away

  1. I was afraid this post would end with a broken elbow…deja vu of the broken hand in the fall. Glad you’re ok. It was an ice skating rink up here, too. I’m glad no one had a video camera as I made my way to the mailbox.

Leave a Reply

