Cakes in Kenya

This is a story that happened a few months ago, but my roommate Colby and I were laughing about it this morning, and I realized that I haven’t documented it yet. And I feel like it needs to be written.

A few months ago, on a Sunday evening, I was snoozing on the couch after my homework got tiresome. Now, when I first wake up in the morning, I’m usually very coherent – but if you’ve ever seen me just coming out of a nap, it gets a lot more loopy. This particular nap, I was in and out of consciousness a lot, and when I finally woke up, I was just sitting there on the couch for about 20 minutes, mind blank.

When my mind finally un-blanked, I realized (for the first time in 20 minutes) that I wasn’t in Kenya. I don’t remember what I was dreaming about, but I was reading Unbowed by Wangari Maathai (a Nobel Peace Prize winner from Kenya)  just before dropping off, so it made a little sense. Of course, I didn’t remember that at the time. I was still super groggy, I wasn’t really sure what was going on or how long I had been asleep or even how long I had been awake. All I knew was that I wasn’t in Kenya, and for some reason, that was a startling newsflash.

As I spent the next 5 minutes or so trying to figure out why I had thought my apartment was in Kenya for the first place, my friend Jaycee came running into my living room with Brother Crane (a member of our bishopric) in tow, carrying a large cardboard box of assorted stuff. From the magical box, Jaycee produced a can of chocolate frosting, pushed it into my hand, and said, “Here’s your frosting! Go find somebody with a cake!”

In response to my obvious confusion, the only advice Brother Crane had to offer me was, “Some apartments have frosting, and some apartments have cake.” Deep. To this day, I want that written in a fortune cookie. They both left, with me still staring at the frosting in my hand like it was supposed to explain itself. Then I put the frosting on the table and gave up trying to make sense of things. As my roommates came home, they asked about the frosting. The only explanation I had to offer was, “Jaycee gave it to us. It goes on cake.” 

(photo: http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/chocolate-cake-iv-10000001110246/)

2 thoughts on “Cakes in Kenya

Leave a Reply

