Patience, as a Virtue

I finished the Book of Mormon today, and I’ve been reading with the intent to find examples of patience. (Let’s face it, people. I need it.)

At the start of my quest, I wrote on the inside cover the following definitions for patience:

From Webster:

  1. Bearing pains or trials calmly or without complaint.
  2. Manifesting forbearance under provocation or strain.
  3. Not hasty or impetuous.
  4. Steadfast despite opposition, difficulty, or adversity.
  5. Able or willing to bear. [probably my favorite.]

From the Preach My Gospel church manual:

  • The capacity to endure delay, trouble, opposition, or suffering without becoming angry, frustrated, or anxious.
  • The ability to do God’s will and accept His timing.

So, here’s what I’ve learned over the last 531 pages:

Patience is about enjoying the journey.

It is about doing all that you possibly can, and then stepping back and letting God take over. It often means letting go of your own timing.

Patience prepares but doesn’t worry. It realizes that God knows best, and trusts Him enough to leave Him in control.

Patience means thinking before you speak. It also means listening.

Patience does not nag. It may send friendly reminders from time to time, but realizes that everything is not immediate.

It is forgiving someone every day of their life, if that’s how often it takes.

Patience is doing the right thing, every time, and the hell with the consequences.

Patience is trusting the driver enough to take your foot off the “invisible brake” and enjoy the ride. It is about knowing where you’re going, figuring out how to get there, and then rolling down the windows and blasting the music and feeling the sun on your face. You’ll get there when you get there. 

2 thoughts on “Patience, as a Virtue

  1. Amen, baby! Wish I were as wise as you when I was 22. Hey, that rhymed – I’m so clever. You must take after me.

Leave a Reply

